Nominal Fees, Vinyl Obsession, Love & Other Things

Well now it has been quite some time since I’ve posted any sort of publication. I have work at 6:30 in the morning, yet I’m still awake a little after midnight. So I figured I’d lurk around on Facebook. Once that got boring and my insomnia persistently kept me hanging ten on the wave of the web, I decided to check out WordPress for the first time in months. So now that I’m here, let me – oxymoronicaly – brief you on the length of what’s been going on in my life in the past… year or so. I got hired at Disney as part of a paid internship program, as I previously blogged about. During this program I met a wonderful friend. Upon the completion of the program, this wonderful friend had become my girlfriend. We are both currently statused as seasonal cast members at Disney… though she got hired at a local pizzeria in December. I once again attempted, yet once again failed at NaNoWriMo this past November. My girlfriend and I are anxiously awaiting the day we move in to our very own apartment together. This day is most literally right around the corner. February 10th, 2011. A year to the day of our first day of work at Disney. A complete coincidence, but perfect nonetheless. Just the other day I took the “liberty” of joining Sam’s Club… at $40/year. Based on the budgeting that both my girlfriend and I have done, it was a wise investment which will save us money in the long run. Never really spending a lot of time in a store like Sam’s or Costco before, I checked it out earlier today. The place is pretty spectacular. I certainly see myself purchase vast amounts of Mountain Dew and various breakfast cereals here.

Another new thing I’ve recently gotten myself into is the financially risqué business of Disney’s Vinylmation Collectibles. Basically if Disney Pin Trading is crack, then Vinylmations are twice the daily dose of Mickey Rooney’s Crazy Pills. I spent $30 today on these things. And that’s with a 40% discount, which is soon dropping back down to 20%. It’s just something about the gambling nature of the… well, sport really, that makes it so engaging. It’s as if because the goods you’re dealing with are little Disney figurines, that taking a little bit from savings is okay. It is so not okay, but that doesn’t matter. Especially when you’re on a hunt for a series’ “chaser” Vinylmation. eBay currently has  auctions for some pretty rare “chasers” that are seeing bids of up to $400 and $500!

I suppose it’s best I end my rambling and get to bed. It felt kinda good to blog again. Perhaps I’ll make pressing words part of my weekly routine… after I’ve finished moving in to the new place and unpacking and all that. Goodnight 🙂

Leave a Reply

