Family Time

It’s so important to spend good quality time with your family, as much as possible. Whenever possible. I have lost a few family members and it’s something you never really get over. But you have the happy memories to keep them alive in your heart. Sometimes being with a bigger extended family can be intimidating for me. It’s kind of weird. It’s something I’ve always wanted and felt like I never got growing up. A nice solid family structure. But I’m not complaining. I was never beat as a child or anything like that. So I got out pretty okay. But I still wish I could have had a nice family dinner each night and someone to help me with my homework and all of those things. Now I’m older and on my own, though my father lives with me. I am in a relationship with a girl who has a big loving family. And though I can be an idiot and a royal asshole from time to time, they still accept me. Flaws and all. It is something I try my best not to take for granted.

Tonight some of that family will be staying over at our house. I love hosting at our house. We’ve been renting here for about a year now and it’s such an awesome place. We’ve already had family over for a graduation party last year. It was a good time. Tomorrow the family will be heading to Walt Disney World to spend some good quality time together. I wish I could go but alas I must stay home and man the castle. However, my father is off of work tomorrow and this will be a good opportunity for us to get some quality father son, grilling some steak and having a couple beers, time. That’s always a good time. Maybe a jam session will be in order. I think so.

I need to get more Blu-Ray’s. I know that’s rather out of left field but I think having movie nights for friends and family would be a lot of fun. I have a nice 50 inch smart LED HDTV. I have a good collection of movies on Blu-Ray. About $200 worth a couple Black Fridays ago. I should check online for some good deals on movies. We do have Netflix, so there’s that. I love that the TV has the Netflix app. Man how time flies within the technology world. It’s pretty intense. Okay but back to what I was blogging about in the first place. Family time. This past Thanksgiving we had friends over. It was nice. Friends can definitely count as family too. Those friends are now in the process of closing on their first home. A nice condo in the Orlando area close to their work. Perfect for them. This year Thanksgiving is at their place. It’s going to be a lot of fun.

So remember, love the family that you have, even when they drive you crazy. Be open to new family as much as you can be. You don’t have them forever. It’s so special to be able to recognize love in all forms. And the love you get from a family is like no other. It’s incredible it really is. Be good to yourself, and each other. Jerry Springer please don’t sue.

Leave a Reply

