Here Comes The Sun

As I sit here on my bed and write this, the sun is literally coming up. It’s about 7am and I’m now wide awake. I did get to bed quite early last night. Well, early for me anyway. Usually I’ll be up until at least 3 or 4. But no, last night we crashed pretty much right after we got home. Home from where, you ask? Well in a previous post I mentioned about being a groomsman at my friend’s upcoming wedding. Well yesterday was the big day! It was a lot of fun and real good bro time. Jason, the groom, is also a barber. For the wedding I told him he could do my hair however he’d want for photos and such. In all honesty I was a little nervous at first wondering if he’d try to play a joke and shave my head or something. But that quickly went away as the man began his craft. Jason was like Michelangelo painting the Sistine Chapel. Not that my cranium is a place of holiness or anything. Far from it. No, Jason’s skill and talent with clippers and shears is like that of a tenured surgeon. The man, the myth, the behemoth of barbery Jason is a master of the blade. I’d highly suggest giving him a visit at Lloyd’s Barbershop if you’re in the Davenport area.

So after all the groomsmen got their haircut and tuxedos on, we grouped together with Jason’s sister and groomlady then headed over to the venue. The venue was B.B. King’s Blues Club Orlando at the Pointe Orlando shopping and dining area. Such a cool club. For any of you who may have been to House of Blues at what is now called Disney Springs, that’s essentially how this club is. Only a bit bluesier. And I like that. Holy shit bluesier is a word. Anyway we got to the venue and enjoyed some cold A/C and nicely chilled bottles of water after our trek from the Rosen Inn across the street. As we waited in anticipation in the lobby, I could sense an excitement in Jason. He denied being nervous, and was well ready to get the shindig going. Once we figured out what the bride Meg was doing we decided it’d be a good idea to head further into the venue. Just then we see the photographer and some of the bridesmaids coming up one of the escalators just outside of the venue. Shit! We had to book it. So we did.

Once the pre-ceremony photo shoot was done and all the guests were seated the beautiful joining of two really amazing souls began. Being as this was my first time playing the role of groomsman I was actually a bit nervous myself. I didn’t get the chance to attend the rehearsal dinner due to transportation issues so I wasn’t sure exactly what I needed to do. Turns out it’s the easiest gig ever. You literally walk out single file, line up, stand there, walk back with a bridesmaid on your arm and that’s really it. I was nervous for nothing. Which tends to be the case most of the time. Thanks anxiety. So now we’re in place and the bridesmaids come out and line up. The time has come, the moment has arrived. George Harrison’s “Here Comes The Sun” plays. And there she is. From where I was standing I couldn’t see Jason’s face so I am not sure if he actually did cry or not. He said he wasn’t going to. But, isn’t that what they all say?

Meg, looking stunning in her wedding dress, bravely wiped away some inevitable tears before walking down the isle to her king. As the officiator spoke such kind and loving words I could see the unabashed joy and glory on Meg’s face. “Here Comes The Sun” was the perfect song for Meg. Her happiness radiated out to everyone like a beautiful sunrise, warm and marking the beginning of something new. One of the groomsmen and one of the bridesmaids took turns reading some lines from a children’s book. It was such a cute and sweet idea! Meg and Jason shared their vows which were an amalgamation of beautiful, touching, cute, and a shy bit dorky. As they were doing this the rings were passed around to each guest to add their love and well wishes and good vibes to the them. Yet again, such a sweet idea. I’m so honored to have not only been invited to such a beautiful wedding but as a groomsman too. It was a delight to get all dressed up and stand up there with my friend and watch him be wed to the love of his life.

I’ve been to a few weddings now. Each one has been very beautiful and quite special. Forgive me for the terrible pun but this one takes the cake. Thanks again to the bride and groom, the groomsmen, the bridesmaids and Jason’s mom. And really everyone involved in this thing did such an amazing job. I sure had a blast and will remember this for quite some time. I can’t wait to see the photos… I think.

Leave a Reply

