Dream of Californication

2000px-flag_of_california-svgI’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately. I mean, that’s not entirely out of the ordinary. I tend to overthink quite a bit actually. But lately I’ve been thinking about the future. I feel like a good amount of change is in my future. Change for the better. There are many things I want to do in the years following me getting my Associate’s degree. One of those things, the main one, is moving to California. Cue Led Zeppelin. I’ve always wanted to live there since I was young. This may or may not have to do with the fact that I wanted to be on The Disney Channel when I was like 10 or 11. I feel like those were the last good days of shows on Disney Channel. All the DCOM’s and original series were some of my favorite programming on TV. From Brink, to Smart House, to Lizzie McGuire and Even Stevens. I may or may not have wanted to be Shia LaBeouf back then. Actually I think I wanted more to be like Gordo from Lizzie McGuire. He was a filmmaker of sorts and that was something I really wanted to do as well. I got my first camcorder back when I was around 12. I made all kinds of weird videos. I actually still have them all on tape. I need to get a VCR so I can digitize them babies and throw them up on YouTube. I like the idea of documenting my work. Even the shit. It shows progress over a period of time.

cal-state-san-marconsSo California. I have family out there, in Thousand Oaks and San Marcos. I hope and plan to move to San Marcos and get my own place. I’d like to attend California State University – San Marcos for my Bachelor’s degree in what I’m going to just assume will be English. But that pursuit may change in the time between now and then. My current job is a work-from-home position which allows me to re-locate to pretty much anywhere in the country. I’d like to take advantage of this as well as get the hell out of my home state of Insane… er.. I mean Florida. 26 years here is enough for me. One aspect of moving across the country that worries me is that the cost of living is significantly higher in a state like California more than many other states. My job is a good job, and I think I’d be able to afford at least a small apartment for myself. I think that would be the best thing for me while I attend school. No distractions. No roommate drama. I’ve had, and from time to time still do, my fair share of roommie drama. It’s just natural. When two differing personalities clash in close quarters. With the added pressures of college, that’s just one less thing I need.

In the time I have before I move – which I still have no set date or time frame – I have a few things I need to first accomplish here at home. The biggest one of these is learning to drive and getting my license. I’m turning 26 in 15 days. I still don’t have a driver’s license. Nor any experience behind the wheel. The prospect of learning to drive and later driving on my own both excites and terrifies me. I’ve become far too conditioned and dependent on other people to get around. That’s one of the reasons I want to go live on my own. I desperately lack a lot of independence. That’s something I feel you need to gain, especially in your 20’s. I’ll get more into the driving thing in a later post. But along with getting a license, I also want to lose weight. Apparently that’s pretty easy to do in California. But I’d like to get a head start as soon as I can find the will power. Part of that will be me being able to drive myself to the gym on a regular basis. My job has a great fitness program where they’ll pay for your gym membership. I really ought to take advantage of that.

154

**Technically Goofy is going camping, but I feel this will be me when I move.

Another thing I feel the necessity to accomplish pre-California is my Associate’s degree. As I’ve stated multiple times on this blog, my GoFundMe, as well as social media… I want to start college in August. That’s coming up right around the corner and I’m still figuring out my financial aid options. (Points eyes to GoFundMe links). Valencia Community College is the school I’ll be attending although I’ll be pursuing my degree online. That’s mostly due to my driving – or lack thereof – situation. I should be graduating sometime in 2018 or 2019. I’m not sure how a two year degree works when you start in the fall and graduation is in May. Either way I have plenty of time to carefully plan and save for the big move. I’m partially writing this blog post as motivation for myself to not back out on what I really would like to do for myself. Do any of you have any suggestions or tips on moving in general or more specifically to California. What are the downsides to living in SoCal? I know traffic is a big issue, as well as population. Also Earthquakes, wildfires, and expenses… oh my! And most importantly, what would you say are the upsides to the golden coast?

Leave a Reply

