Great Sh*t: An Audiobook Review

toughshitA few days ago I redeemed a free Audible.com credit for Kevin Smith’s Tough Sh*t: Life Advice from a Fat, Lazy Slob Who Did GoodFor those not privy to the “View Askewniverse“, Kevin “Silent Bob” Smith is a writer/director/actor/and all around nice guy from ‘The Garden State’, New Jersey. His 1994 debut film, Clerkshas inspired many young filmmakers from the time of its release and continuing to this day. I, myself, have often flirted with the idea of movie making. I used to make little, random videos with a camcorder I begged my dad to buy me when I was 12 years old. I wanted to create something that people could watch and I could devour their reactions. But this review is not about me. Tough Sh*t is just as inspiring a book as Clerks is a film. The breed of originality, humor, and creativity spewed out by the mind of Smith is a kin to one of his personal heroes George Carlin. Kevin Smith narrates this audiobook, and there literally could be no better a voice lent to the words of Smith than that of his own. Fans of Kevin’s podcast, or rather “Smodcast”, created with and co-hosted by Smith’s longtime pal and producer Scott Moiser, will love Tough Sh*t. It is very much like an extended cut of the podcast, minus the input from Moiser. The book covers many specific events in the life and career of Kevin Smith. From the time he was in his dad’s nuts, to the time Bruce Willis went nuts, Kevin covers many years of ups and downs throughout his life. He talks about meeting his beautiful bombshell of a wife and an awkward, albeit painful sexual experience that eventually followed. Smith also mentions his many successes and few failures in terms of the box office with his various films. He offers a refreshing look at critics and what they do and stand for. Ironic, as writing a book review is technically critiquing a work. But I do so with nothing but love for the man and what he does best. For someone who often plays a silent character on screen, Kevin Smith has a lot to say in Tough Sh*t and he most certainly has earned the floor. If you’re a fan of Smith’s work, or even just a fan of a humorous, vicarious walks in the footsteps of another person, I highly suggest you pick up a copy of this fantastic book. I think rating systems are an old tribe but if you were to force me to give Tough Sh*t one, I’d have to give it a 5 out of 5. I may have downloaded a digital audio copy of the tome, but I do plan on ordering one of the signed paperbacks available at the link above. Perfect gift for that fat, lazy slob in your life. You’ve done good, sir. You’ve done good.

Leave a Reply

