All I Have To Do Is Dream

Dreams are amazing. They can take you into the most incredibly detailed, and extraordinary worlds. They can also manifest pretty much any emotion imaginable. Have you ever woken up from a dream and felt angry about something that happened in the dream? It’s hard to shake that feeling for the rest of the day. You tell yourself that it was just a dream. That it holds no weight in real life. Oh but dreams totally do. Dreams are like mind movies. But we rarely have control over their direction and production. They are still mostly a mystery but science has been cracking down on finding out the true significance and potential of dreams. I have very vivid dreams quite often. This is a side effect of the Ambien I usually take to get to sleep at night. A lot of the time I will be upset when I wake up solely because a really interesting dream has ended. It is rare that I will wake up angry, but it really sucks when I do. Like I said before, it is hard to shake negative feelings throughout the day when you wake up with them. But by the same token, when you wake up after a really great dream it makes the whole day that much easier to take on and enjoy.

Funny how the mind works. It can create such beautiful art or concepts and theories, or it can create hellish nightmares and cause terror and fear. It’s the eternal yin and yang. I’ve just woken up from an interesting dream. It involved a shape-shifting room, some video games, and driving in a car smoking a hookah while simultaneously driving over the hookahs of some skater kids. Weird is an understatement. I have no idea where these images and scenarios come from, but I’m so grateful for them. How boring would it be if you had nothing interesting to think about during the day. I know a lot of people don’t have that luxury. Jobs demand focus and attention, as does school. And during the week I will be granting them both of those things. But when I have the time, I love to think, and think, and think. I really can’t help it. So when a really interesting dream comes along I love to analyze it or think of a way to make the mind movie into a real movie.

I need to start keeping a dream journal. I’m just so damn lazy when it comes to telling myself I need to do something and actually doing it. Maybe I’ll use this blog from time to time as a dream journal. I would love to make my mental visions into real ones for people to enjoy. Because dreams are random as hell and don’t really have a plot, I think it would have to be either just a collection of dreams in one sequence or something that involves traveling between dreams. That would be pretty sweet, right? A dream-hopping movie? I think Terry Gilliam would be the best director for that. I mean, have you seen The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus? That whole film is like a Dali painting come to life. I love it. That’s what I imagine a dream movie to be like. Very surreal and trippy. The imagination is an incredible place. It’s more than a place, it is a tool. A tool that we can use to craft some amazing pieces of art. It is a terrible thing to waste. Sometimes, I’m guilty of wasting mine. But it is never totally wasted. I have half-finished lyrics and poems, and plenty of paintings that line my office walls to prove it. One of these days I’ll attempt to paint something from one of those weird dreams that I have. But for now I’m awake, blogging and drinking coffee. If anything interesting comes of this I will be sure to post about it. However, life is pretty mundane overall. The dream world, that’s whats fantastic!

Leave a Reply

